top of page

Glasses

By Philip Malazarte


I’ve always found the idea of glasses fascinating. A piece of glass can correct your eyesight, and allow you to see the world in its full beauty. The concept sounds like some cliché romance film. But I honestly kind of like the idea of living life without glasses. Yes, it leaves faraway things blurry, or the things near you, but honestly, sometimes that’s a good thing. Sometimes, I don’t want to see the world. If taking off my glasses is all I have to do to not see the world in so much detail, then I’d happily take them off. Because when I wear glasses, I can see the beauty in things, but I can also see the pain and the sorrow that surrounds us. When I’m not wearing glasses, everyone’s face seems so smooth and carefree, but when I look at them through my lenses, I can see the forehead lines caused by worry, the frown lines caused by anxiety. But then again, there are some things that are beautiful. The crow's feet caused by thousands of smiles, the mischievous twinkle in someone’s eyes when they laugh. Yes, there are some things that I don’t want to see, but there are dozens of other things that take my breath away.

31 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Cold

By Philip Malazarte I wake up in searing agony. My eyes jerk open, and I shoot up in my bed, furiously searching for the cause of my pain. I see nothing. No hidden creature, no monster hiding under my

Help

By Philip Malazarte It’s a weird feeling. A feeling you can’t really describe. So many emotions mixed together into…something. It feels odd. Like there’s a hole inside. Like there’s something missing,

The Weeping Witch

By Philip Malazarte What if crying isn't a result of evolution? What if it started with one person? Who was that one person? Long ago, thousands of years in our past, there was a young girl, who could

bottom of page